[Front] [Prev Chapter] [Next Chapter]

Chapter 22 Optimizing and Maintaining the Network

This chapter describes tasks that should be performed from time to time to make sure that the network is running as efficiently as it can.

This chapter includes information about the following tasks:

Network Management

The network supports SNMP network management, described in Chapter 25, "Configuring Your Computer for Desktop SNMP Services." To allow SNMP to manage each computer, use SETUP at each computer to enable it.

Optimizing Server Performance

You can fine-tune server configuration to improve performance. Display the statistics about current server configuration and performance, and then use these to change server settings. Displaying statistics is described in "Obtaining Performance Statistics" on page 20-20. Changing the network configuration is described in "Configuring a Server" on page 20-14.

Because the hard disk performance of a server may be important to all users, run DISKOPT regularly to defragment files and free space. DISKOPT can only be used by the user who is physically working on the server and only when the network software is not loaded.

When optimizing a server's hard disk, you should also consider scanning it for viruses, in addition to a regular virus scan. This is described in Chapter 14, "Securing Information."

Backing Up Workgroup-Related Data

The network maintains data about the servers, shared resources, and users. Some of this data is kept in a distributed database, with a copy at each server. Other, server-specific, information is kept only at the server to which it refers. To minimize the danger of the workgroup data being corrupted, it is recommended that you regularly back it up, using NET ADMIN's backup command.

Then, if it ever appears that data is corrupted, possibly as the result of a server crashing, you can restore the data from the backup copy.

Before you can back up workgroup data, you must do the following:

o You must log in to the server's workgroup. Refer to "Logging In" on page 21-2.

o You must have workgroup administrator privileges as well as the right to manage this server.

You can back up any server if you have appropriate rights for that server. You do not have to be using the server locally in order to take a backup.

To back up workgroup data, do the following:

1. At the system prompt, type

NET ADMIN <Enter>

2. Highlight the server to back up from the list of servers.

3. Select Properties... from the File menu.

4. Select the <Backup Databases...> button.

5. Specify the name of the directory into which the data should be saved.

It is a good idea to keep more than one backup, in differently named directories. The backup consists of several files in one directory within the directory you specify. The directory name is the same as the server name, with the extension .BAK.

Restoring Workgroup-Related Data

If it appears that the workgroup-related data has become corrupt, perhaps as a result of a server crashing, you can restore the data from the last backup made, as described in the previous section.

Before you can restore workgroup data, you must do the following:

o You must log in as a local user of the Personal NetWare server which is to be restored.

o You must log in to the server's workgroup. Refer to"Logging In" on page 21-2.

o You must have workgroup administrator privileges as well as the right to manage this server.

To restore workgroup data, do the following:

1. At the system prompt, type

NET ADMIN <Enter>

2. Highlight the server from the list of servers.

3. Select Properties... from the File menu.

4. Select the <Restore Databases...> button.

5. Specify the name of the directory from which the data should be restored.

6. In addition to the server-specific data, specify which parts of the workgroup data you want to restore.

WARNING: This replaces the workgroup data on every server in the workgroup, and loses any changes that have been made since the backup.

Although you can specify which of the workgroup, user and resource databases you want to restore, in almost all cases you should restore them together or not at all.

Audit Log

For each workgroup, an audit log is kept, unless it has been turned off. The log records full details each time any of the following occurs:

You can turn audit logging on or off, and display, save, or delete the log.

Before you can use the audit log, you must do the following:

o You must log in to the workgroup. Refer to "Logging In" on page 21-2.

o You must have workgroup administrator privileges.

You can maintain the audit log from DOS or MS Windows.

Maintaining the Audit Log from DOS

1. At the system prompt, type

NET ADMIN <Enter>

2. Select Audit Log... from the Workgroup menu.

The log is displayed. It shows all events in the workgroup known to the servers that are currently available. If any server is "down" its events are not shown. The log is ordered by time and date.

3. Refer to the following table to see what to do next.
To

Do

Turn auditing on or off

1. Select or deselect the "Auditing Enabled" check box.

Save the log to a file

1. Choose the <Save As...> button.

2. Specify the file's path and name.

The saved file is an ASCII text file which can be edited and printed.

Delete the log

1. Choose the <Delete...> button.

4. When you have finished, select the <OK> button.

Maintaining the Audit Log from MS Windows

1. In Program Manager, choose the Personal NetWare icon in the Personal NetWare window.

2. Open the NetWare window, unless it is already open.

From the Window menu, choose NetWare, or double-click the NetWare icon in the main window.

3. Select the workgroup from the list on the left side of the NetWare window.

4. From the File menu, choose Properties...

5. In the Workgroup Connection Info dialog, choose the
<Audit Log...> button.

The audit log appears. Scroll it to see all events.

6. Refer to the following table to see what to do next.
To

Do this

Turn auditing on or off

1. Select or deselect the "Workgroup auditing active" check box.

Save the log to a file

1. Choose the <Save as...> button.

2. Specify the file's path and name.

The saved file is an ASCII text file which can be edited and printed.

Delete the log

1. Choose the <Clear Log> button.

7. Choose the <Close> button to close the dialog.

Error Log

For each workgroup, an error log is kept. The log records full details each time an error occurs.

You can display, save, or delete the log.

Before you can use the error log, you must do the following:

o You must log in to the workgroup. Refer to "Logging In" on page 21-2.

o You must have workgroup administrator privileges.

You can maintain the error log from DOS or MS Windows.

Maintaining the Error Log from DOS

1. At the system prompt, type

NET ADMIN <Enter>

2. Select Error Log... from the Workgroup menu.

The log is displayed. It shows all error messages in the workgroup known to the servers that are currently available. If any server is "down" its errors are not shown. The log is ordered by time and date.

3. Do either of the following.
To

Do

Save the log to a file

1. Choose the <Save As...> button.

2. Specify the file's path and name.

Delete the log

1. Choose the <Delete...> button.

4. When you have finished, select the <OK> button.

Maintaining the Error Log from MS Windows

1. In Program Manager, choose the Personal NetWare icon in the Personal NetWare group window.

2. Open the NetWare window, unless it is already open.

From the Window menu, choose NetWare, or double-click the NetWare icon in the main window.

3. Select the workgroup from the list on the left side of the NetWare window.

4. From the File menu, choose Properties...

5. In the Workgroup Connection Info dialog, choose the
<Error Log...> button.

The error log appears in a scrollable field.

6. Refer to the following table to see what to do next.
To

Do this

Save the log to a file

1. Choose the <Save as...> button.

2. Specify the file's path and name.

The saved file is an ASCII text file which can be edited and printed.

Delete the log

1. Choose the <Clear Log> button.

7. Choose the <Close> button to close the dialog.

Uninstalling Network Software

To uninstall the network software on your computer, you must edit AUTOEXEC.BAT to remove the reference to STARTNET.BAT. You can reclaim the disk space used by the network software by deleting the contents of the directory it is in (C:\NWCLIENT and C:\NWCNTL, by default).



[Front] [Prev Chapter] [Next Chapter]

info@caldera.com
Copyright © 1993, 1997, 1998 Caldera, Inc. All rights reserved.